homeaboutarchives + tagsshopmembership!
aboutarchivesshopmembership!
aboutarchivesmembers!

Ebert’s review of Y Tu Mama Tambien

posted by Jason Kottke   Dec 12, 2003

Ebert’s review of Y Tu Mama Tambien nails why the film is so good.

Reader comments

ericDec 12, 2003 at 12:45PM

Did you increased your rating for this film after you read the article..?
Cause I think it was at 85 last night.

jkottkeDec 12, 2003 at 1:46PM

Yeah, I did. Not specifically because of the article, but I was thinking about it last night and this morning on the way to work and bumped up the rating.

Stefan JonesDec 12, 2003 at 2:42PM

Anyone else out there wonder why the DVD had some scenes deleted?

jkottkeDec 12, 2003 at 4:18PM

I saw it on Cinemax…I don’t know whether I saw the uncut version or not. As for the DVDs, there’s an R-rated version (for Blockbuster and Wal-Mart, I’d guess) and an unrated version. Were scenes cut from the unrated DVD version?

MikeDec 12, 2003 at 4:25PM

I heard something about the pivotal scene in the bedroombeing trimmed for the Blockbuster version. Which if true would have changed the whole ending of the movie.

jkottkeDec 12, 2003 at 4:52PM

Maybe they just hold hands?

Scott CraigDec 12, 2003 at 5:20PM

I really didn’t enjoy this movie at all. It was like a Mexican making a French movie. It wasn’t any more sexually uninhibited than French movies and it had a soap opera quality to the ending. I almost didn’t watch it until the end. Now I feel like I missed something.

Stefan JonesDec 12, 2003 at 5:43PM

I bought my (used) copy from Blockbuster…seemed like a good deal at the time. Since then new (and, I assume, uncut) copies are available cheaper all over the place.

Missing scenes I recall:

A bit of spunk plunking into a pool.

The aforementioned bedroom scene. You might pick up, from the before and after, that Something Happened, but it is a lot less explicit.

my eyes, they hurt!Dec 12, 2003 at 6:43PM

Re: your graphic for Y Tu Mama Tambien down below.

White text on white background? oy!

dtettoDec 12, 2003 at 8:24PM

I was none thrilled with the movie. Certainly a “good” film, but to my personal taste? Nay.

I saw it in a (college) class, and would be interested to know whether I got the toned down version — what did I miss? According to IMDB there were also several scenes edited out that were available from the film’s website for a time — anyone?

dtettoDec 12, 2003 at 8:29PM

To answer my own question (and that of so many others), I only had to click one further link at IMDB. [Spoiler:] According to message board hounds over there, if the boys kiss it’s the real deal.

billDec 12, 2003 at 11:01PM

Jim Gaffagin: ever try bringing up an old movie?… The film was great, I wonder what brought it on at this time.

drkDec 12, 2003 at 11:54PM

Beneath these two levels (the coming-of-age journey, the two Mexicos) is hidden a third. I will say nothing about it, except to observe there are only two shots in the entire movie that reflect the inner reality of one of the characters.

anyone? i don’t want to have to rent it again! also the “two mexicos” reminds me of john sayles’ men with guns… oh and i was thinking that “new wave” cinema only manifests after a certain level of political and economic development, cuz like afterall there has to be a market to support it and an audience with certain bourgeois sensibilities :D

and if that’s any indication look out for brazilian cinema; city of god ruled! fwiw, btw, here’s an interview with alejandro gonzález iñárritu :D http://theonionavclub.com/3947/feature1.html

rachelDec 13, 2003 at 3:25AM

drk: i haven’t seen the film in a while, but i believe what he is talking about, without giving anything away, is what is revealed at the very end in the cafe. there is at least one, maybe two scenes earlier in the film that serve as red flags, but they’re very subtle. i doubt many people thought much of the “clues” the first time they saw it.

MattDec 13, 2003 at 5:15AM

Overall, I enjoyed this film, but I have to agree with Scott, the ending let it down a bit for me.

drkDec 13, 2003 at 10:55AM

thx rachel! now’ll have to rent it :D

This thread is closed to new comments. Thanks to everyone who responded.